Former champions meet in final PDF Print E-mail
Monday, 23 January 2017

Mike Walker.jpgThe Window Outlet Cockermouth and District Snooker League programme featured the Eric McMullen Memorial 7-a-side Handicap Semi- Finals.

Two former winners Station Road B and Flimby Social both produced the goods to meet in next month’s final.

As Station Road B travelled to Maryport Social the home benefit plus the handicap advantage put the Maryport side in a strong position but with couple of close frame wins it was Workington’s Station B who ran out 4-1 winners.

The first frame did manage to go the way of the home side as Ryan Ismay (+6 handicap) produced a fantastic break of 51 to defeat Station B’s Dave Todd (+20) with ease.

Frame two proved to be vital in the context of the match as Shaun Ayre (+10) fell over the line courtesy of a black ball win against Maryport’s Craig Stuart (+26).

In the next, Station B’s Peter O’Hagan (scr), giving away a 50 point start, made a wonderful green to black clearance to defeat Paul Alford (+50) and take his team into a 2-1 lead. Station B super sub Alan McLeod (+11) delivered a cool break of 32 to put John Fleming (+15) under pressure in frame four and as the Maryport man could find no answers the former champions moved 3-1 ahead.

In what turned out to be the last frame of the match Station B captain, Stephen O’Hagan (+18) showed real bottle to close out the match with a fine win over Social ever-present, Paul Lister (+10) and take his team into the final.

The 2015 champions, Flimby Social produced a superb comeback from 2-1 down to defeat Workington Golf Club 4-2. The first frame saw Sal Cakmak (+30) take full advantage of his handicap start as he presided over the golf club’s Rob Sim (scr).

Nevertheless, the next two frames saw the golf club move 2-1 ahead as Bryan Walker (+22) and Mark Brasted (+17) defeated Paul Vickers (+18) and Garry Southern (+15) respectively.

At this point Flimby needed to grind out a win and with tactical specialist Richard Kirkham (+35) delivering just that in a victory over Mark Cowen (+19) parity was achieved. Flimby then took the advantage with a Kevin Kirkham (+10) win over Phil Sorfleet (+23) but it was team mate Mike Walker (+24, pictured above) who took his team through to February’s final with a black ball victory over Andrew Wells (+30).

In the 7 a side TKO plate semi finals Station Road A negotiated a final frame decider to defeat former champions the United Club, 4-3.

In a match that saw the lead change a number of times Station A’s Darren Lawson (+35) was the one to carry his side over the line as he overcame Mark Johnston in a tense final frame.

In the second TKO plate semi the Sun Inn moved through to the final with a 4-1 victory over Workington Legion.

A closer game than the scoreline suggested sees the Aspatria side now in with a chance of retaining a trophy they won last season.

The Cumbria County Doubles Snooker Championship will take place on Sun 5th Feb at the Portland Snooker Club, Carlisle. Roll call will be at 1030am with entry being £20 per pair.

Full details of this week’s results plus all the KO draws can be found on the leagues website at

Bookmark with: what are these?

< Prev   Next >